What You Need to Know About South Carolina Sobriety Checkpoints

If you plan to operate a vehicle in the state of South Carolina, particularly if you are considering drinking any amount of alcohol beforehand, you should be acutely aware of the possibility of running into a police Sobriety Checkpoint. Alternately known as roadblocks, DUI checkpoints, and mobile checkpoints, this type of police tactic is perfectly legal in South Carolina, and is intended to weed out inebriated Read More

A Guilty Plea May Not Be Best: 4 Effective DUI Defenses

Many people mistakenly believe that, if they are charged with a DUI, their only option is to plead guilty. A DUI conviction nearly anywhere carries significant fines and penalties. A South Carolina DUI imposes fines between $400-$1000, jail time of 48 hours to 90 days, and license suspension for up to 6 months. Subsequent convictions carry much more serious penalties, and if there are other aggravating factors Read More

Yes, It Can Get Worse: 5 Aggravating Factors That Can Lead To Harsher DUI Penalties

On its own, a DUI can lead to huge monetary fines, the loss of your license, community service, and even jail time—not to mention how it can affect aspects of your personal life like your job or your insurance rates. Nobody wants to face the strife of a DUI conviction, but as bad as these penalties seem, there are ways a DUI can get even worse. In South Carolina, certain aggravating factors can lead to even Read More

Weighing the Pros and Cons of Refusing a Breathalyzer Test In South Carolina

So you’re out at your favorite watering hole to celebrate your new job. You have a couple of drinks then decide to call it a night. You hop in the car and start to head home when you notice lights flashing in your rear-view mirror. If the officer has any suspicion that you’ve been drinking then you will have a decision to make: should you refuse the pending breathalyzer test? This is one of the most common Read More

DUI Charges? How an Experienced DUI Attorney Can Help

If you’ve been charged for DUI and it’s your first offense, you may be inclined to just pay the fine and get it over with. Don’t be too hasty! You could be subjecting yourself to future problems that an experienced DUI attorney can help you avoid. Collateral consequences of a DUI conviction All DUI convictions result in a driving license suspension of at least six months. Your insurance will either go up or be Read More

What a DUI Conviction Means for the Rest of Your Life

We all make mistakes, but certain ones can have an impact on the rest of your life. Driving under the influence (DUI) falls within that category. South Carolina shows little leniency to impaired drivers, and state law imposes a number of severe penalties for a DUI conviction. First offenders can expect to pay a $400 fine, spend up to 30 days in jail, and/or lose their license for six months. A second conviction Read More

What to Expect If You Refuse to Take a DUI Breath Test in South Carolina

When it comes to DUI, South Carolina has an “implied consent” law that basically states the following: if a law enforcement officer arrests you because they have reason to believe that you are driving while intoxicated, you automatically consent to a blood or breath test to check your blood alcohol content (BAC) and a urine analysis to test for drugs. If you refuse these tests, penalties apply. In most Read More

What Happens If You’re Convicted of a South Carolina DUI?

South Carolina is tough on DUI violations: a first offense carries a mandatory six-month license suspension, and the penalties become more severe with each successive conviction. If there are aggravating factors involved, such as having a high BAC or driving with a child in the vehicle, the consequences are even more severe. If you’re convicted of a DUI in South Carolina, you face administrative and criminal Read More